Election Results 2022, Assembly Bypolls On 7 Seats In 6 States: BJP Wins 3 Key Elections, Ahead In 1, Close Fight In Telangana: 10 Points

Counting begins at 8 am and results are expected mostly by noon. (representative image)

New Delhi:
Election results: Election results for seven assembly constituencies in six states will be announced today. Bihar and Telangana are fighting for honor and Haryana has a family legacy.

Here are 10 things that sum up what the election is all about.

  1. BJP’s Gola Gokrannath of Uttar Pradesh; With wins in Haryana’s Adampur and Bihar’s Gopalganj, Odisha’s Dhamnagar is leading. Tejashwi Yadav-led Rashtriya Janata Dal has won Bihar’s Mokama. K Chandrashekar’s Rao’s Telangana Rashtriya Samithi is ahead in Munugode, while Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena faction is set to win Mumbai’s Andheri East seat.

  2. Out of the seven seats, the BJP won three. Two congresses were held, with Shiv Sena and RJD having one each in the constituency. Two seats are in Bihar and one each in UP; Haryana Maharashtra, Telangana and Odisha.

  3. Bihar is witnessing the first contest after Nitish Kumar ditched the BJP to revive JDU’s ally Tejashwi Yadav’s RJD. RJD candidate Anant Singh’s wife Neelam Devi is leading in Mokama after the illegal seizure of firearms. In Gopalganj, the RJD is hoping to oust the BJP, which it has held for almost two decades now. He was pitted against BJP’s Kusum Devi who was in need of an election after the death of Mohan Prasad Gupta’s husband Subhas Singh.

  4. Adampur, the family seat of former chief minister Bhajan Lal in Haryana, will decide whether his granddaughter Bhavya Bishnoi can carry forward the 68-year legacy after he switched from the Congress to the BJP. Bhavya’s father Kuldeep Bishnoi, who led the family in the BJP, resigned as Adampur MLA, leading to this bypoll.

  5. Maharashtra’s Andheri East sees the first two. This is the first organizational battle since Uddhav Thackeray, who will become chief minister with the help of the BJP, has split the Shiv Sena into two, with Eknath Shinde being unseated. It was the Sena, led by the Thackerays for decades, fighting the Shiv Sena (Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray) – and a new symbol, the ‘mashaal’ or flaming torch.

  6. Shiv Sena (Uddhav) candidate Rutuja Latke is the widow of former Sena MLA from Andheri (East) who died after a heart attack in Dubai in May 2022. The BJP withdrew its presidential candidate in the elections necessitated by the death of a leader.

  7. Telangana saw Munugode fighting the ruling TRS and its sworn rival BJP on the ground, making allegations of “crores of rupees” – especially given Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao’s ambition to challenge Prime Minister Narendra Modi in 2024. Here a Congress MLA has resigned and is now fighting for a BJP ticket.

  8. In Odisha’s Dhamnagar too, the ruling regional party BJD is facing the BJP. The BJP won last time but the death of MLA Bishnu Charan Sethi led to this contest. He raised his son.

  9. In its heartland of UP, the BJP is seeking to retain the Gola Gokarannath seat that fell vacant after the death of its MLA Arvind Giri on September 6. It is a direct fight between Arvind Giri’s son Aman Giri as BSP and Congress are far apart. (BJP) and former MLA Vinay Tiwari of the Samajwadi Party.

  10. None of these contests are likely to upset the math for the current state governments. But as regional parties try to put together a united front for the 2024 elections, which are less than a year and a half away, they could become powerhouses or rifts depending on the results.

Also Read :  Indonesia earthquake: Search underway as 5.6-tremor leaves dozens dead in West Java


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Articles

Back to top button